Gawthorpe Junior School - Cup Winners 1962

Previous | Home | Next

Gawthorpe Junior School Cup Winners 1962

Thanks to Alan France for sending this picture of the Gawthorpe Junior School football team that won the Junior Gaskell Trophy in March 1962. The matches, which were around 15 minutes each way, were played against other junior schools in the Gaskell area on a playing field opposite Carr Lodge Park in Horbury, where Horbury Academy is now located.

Back Row, L to R: Keith Schofield, Paul Shires, John Townend, Duncan Brearley, Peter Whittington, Brian Griffiths.

Front Row, L to R: Alan Pamment, Steve Wood, Alan France, Kenneth Rhodes, Ian Wicks, Tony Allsop, Gerald Beardmore.

My thanks to Rodney Furniss who contacted me with the names of all the missing pupils in the picture and also corrected a few wrong names in the process.